Map Unavailable

Date(s) - 15/08/2018
All Day


The Institution of Engineers (India), Durgapur Local Centre celebrated the 72nd Independence Day. Mr I Sengupta, Past Chairman, IEI, Durgapur Local Centre unfurled the National Flag. Mr R K Roy, Chairman welcomed all the Corporate and Student members and recalled the History of India’s Independence Day and said that the Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati started the greatness of the first freedom struggle of 1857 and Mangal Pandey gave his life to Bharat Mata and the spark turned into a Mahasangram, which included Rani Lakshmibai, Tatya Tope, Nana Saheb of Jhansi, Ramprasad Bismil, Ashfaq, Chandrasekhar Azad, Bhagat Singh, Rajguru, Sukhdev etc. for the country, martyr for ‘Sarfaroshi Ki Tamanna’ Have become. Tilak lent his leniency to Swaraj’s and Subhash Chandra Bose said, “Give me blood, I will give you freedom.”

Midnight on August 15, 1947, Jawaharlal Nehru declared India as an independent country, where he delivered the speech “Trieste Destiny”. During his speech, he said,

When the world sleeps at the touch of the midnight hour, India will wake up to life and freedom. Today we ended our misfortune, and India again searched for itself.

After this, the Assembly members vowed to give their services to the country with full integrity. Officially the National Flag was presented to the Assembly. So India became officially an independent country and Nehru and Viceroy Lord Mountbatten, respectively, became Prime Minister and Governor General. Mahatma Gandhi was not involved in this celebration. He stayed in Calcutta and kept a 24-hour fast for promoting peace among Hindus and Muslims. 

At the end vote of thanks was given by the Mr. B. Mondal, Chairman, Durgapur Technicians’ Chapter to all of the audience for their lively participation and to the speakers for their knowledge which he percolates to the audience.

A short film ‘Mitti’ (Hindi) was screened after the vote of thanks.